Himalountain

Just another WordPress.com weblog

You know, I haven’t used one of these in years

leave a comment »

And that makes me very sad.

Best online Periodic Table I’ve ever seen. Now, granted, I haven’t really done a whole lotta searching for a good periodic table… like I said, I haven’t had to use one in years, and although I like to think otherwise, it’s probably been years since I even looked at one.

It does actually make me ponder the career path I’ve chosen rather carefully though. Don’t get me wrong, I feel very lucky in that, as a whole, I love my job and I thoroughly enjoy what I do. Not everyone can say that.  But it does make me think back as to why I chose my particular field, instead of materials engineering, or hell, even straight chemistry.  I think, in the end, it was pure romanticism that decided it for me… journeys into the unknown, mankind triumphant… etc.  Of course I knew then what I know now, that basically everything I do will deal much more with the mundane, the everyday.

What I’ve realized, though, is that ignoring those mundane events is, in many ways, a mistake.  I’ve come very much to appreciate the small things, because the small things lead to small changes.  And it’s the small changes that are irresistable, unstoppable.  Something big, flashy, and grandiose will get everyone’s attention.  For better or worse, those with the power to do something about it will.  But those small, incremental changes are what can’t be resisted.  Most people don’t notice they are even occurring until they build up and up and up… the dam breaks and the changes all flood out, overwhelming everyone.  But by then it’s too late and there is nothing to do but to rebuild the dam, clean up, and go back to life as usual.  But it’s not life as usual anymore.  That’s why I’ve learned to appreciate the small changes, because those are the ones that matter.

Ah hell, like I even know what I’m talking about.  There are hardly any original thoughts up there, just something that’s been rehashed so many times it’s hard to say where it first started.  I got distracted, pulled off course.  It happens sometimes.  The cure for that, like so much else, is a glass of scotch and the oblivion of sleep.

Written by jundt

May 7, 2008 at 11:34 pm

Posted in Ramblin'

Leave a Reply

