Himalountain

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Dispatch from Burlington

with one comment

… which I’ve learned has the nickname “Girlington”. Seriously – I’ve met like 2 guys so far this trip. It’s quite refreshing to have the gender ratio so reversed from my usual social dynamic.

Day 1:

Juuulia arrives in Burlington to be picked up at the airport by everyone’s favorite Decepticon, Megatron. I got 4 hours of sleep on the red-eye but quite a bit of coffee so I’m good to go. Megatron has decided to show everything quintessentially Vermont to me in my short visit. We walk to the Farmer’s Market passing a twelve story apartment building for the elderly which I learn is the tallest building in Vermont. We also see this building:

The artist apparently uses his house to advertise his photography business. After going to a potluck for dinner, I unsuccessfully tried to serenade my hostesses on guitar (I have no songs memorized), Megatron rocked the house

and I contented myself with taking arty photos.

Day 2:

I woke up this morning to the sound of Megatron playing the fiddle. She’s very good. I make some coffee and grab a quick bite to eat before we head out to a strawberry farm to go berry picking. So much fun! I had a few spazzy moments (I need to get over my buzzing insect thing) but picked some luscious fruits.

After returning, we had a picnic on the front lawn, then loaded Megatron’s canoe onto her car and headed out to Indian Brook Reservoir for some boatin’ and swimmin’.

It was so tranquil and wonderful. I kind of envy Megatron’s life. Everything we’ve done this weekend so far is what she would have done if I weren’t there. We got back to the house in time for the bimonthly potluck she and her housemates have. This evening’s theme was “Roll Your Own Sushi”. I learned that sliced pear, avocado, cucumber and radish are a really good combination. Dessert was Strawberry Shortbread – homemade with the strawberries from this morning and some fresh whipped cream.

It’s kind of hard to believe that people are this wholesome. Or that I’ve been here for less than 2 days. Normally I feel like I’ve gotten something accomplished on the weekend if I leave my apartment. Tomorrow I pick up my rental car and head out to the middle of nowhere in NH to visit another friend who is a forest ranger. It’s like I’m not only on a geographical vacation but a mental one too. I’m digging it.

Written by juuulia

June 15, 2008 at 8:31 pm

Posted in Travelin'

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Damn that sounds like a rad time! Great photos too.

    Galen

    June 16, 2008 at 8:08 pm


Leave a Reply

