Himalountain

Just another WordPress.com weblog

And the award for Best Movie of 1986 goes to…

with 3 comments

Rad.

There, I said what we are all thinking. Rad is quite definitely the preeminent BMX Teen Movie of the eighties. If you’ve never seen the movie before, go watch it. Now. But if that is too much trouble for you (it is hard to find, I understand… but that didn’t stop me from finding it again), then just watch this clip. It sums up the entire movie in one beautiful, ludicrous scene.

Some highlights:

  • 0:00 – Yes, that is Aunt Becky. And she is hot with shoulder pads.
  • 0:45 – The appearance of the Evil Lacky Twins, quickly cut to… the Badass Teen-Villain (why were the jerks always blonde in the eighties?), and he is clearly not impressed.
  • 0:56 – Drunk Corporate Asshole! Yes, he is the true villain here, accompanied by his own slick, Mustachioed Lacky
  • 1:50 – Wha? The Evil Lacky Twins are enjoying the show? Blonde Badass will have none of it!
  • 2:08 – Quite clearly, a man in sequined, be-shoulder padded blouse. Apparently, Aunt Becky can only do tricks when the bike is fixed to a track
  • 2:41 – Sooo… do the Evil Lacky Twins share the Zebra Girl? I’ve never been clear on that particular fact.
  • 3:43 – Wow, we were so easily impressed back then…

Interesting side note, the movie is loosely based on the life of Eddie Fiola, who is actually in the movie… as Cru Jones’ stunt double.

I can’t count the number of times I watched this movie as a kid. A few years ago I finally managed to turn up a (bootlegged) copy on DVD. And you know what? I like it even more now than I did then. Perhaps if all you are nice enough, one of these days I’ll host a Rad movie night, and we can all bask in the warming glow of the eighties.

And in case you are wondering what that awesome song is, “Send Me an Angel” by Real Life. Thrice does a half-decent cover.

Written by jundt

June 25, 2008 at 10:23 pm

Posted in Ramblin', Stuff On My TV

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, so much to say. a) I will have to hear that Thrice cover for sure. b) I have never seen and/or heard of this movie before, but I can obviously tell from the clip that it is truly amazing. c) who the heck is Aunt Becky? I want to say Full House…yes/no/maybe?

    Galen

    June 25, 2008 at 11:47 pm

  2. I have also never seen this film. I definitely want to – it looks like it’s right up my alley.

    Yeah Aunt Becky was on Full House. She was married to Uncle Jesse. My favorite Aunt Becky moment was when she taught DJ how to wear makeup without looking like a whore (Kimmy Gibler went the whore route)

    juuulia

    June 27, 2008 at 6:46 am

  3. […] taking advantage of actually having an internet connection this morning to counter Jundt’s BMX movie clip with a clip from my own 80s childhood. I loved book Teen Witch as a kid and one late night (this is […]


Leave a Reply

