Himalountain

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Perhaps a stroke of genius… or maybe just a stroke.

with one comment

Ok, so bear with me for a minute here. I made a Ferris Beuller’s Day Off image the other day. And it is (in my opinion) pretty awesome and something I would proudly wear on my shirt.

But what if… what if I took Cameron, and placed him not in front of Sunday in the Park, but other iconic paintings? Would it be anything more than another Ironic T-Shirt? I have nothing against irony in my clothing, in fact, I usually like a heavy dose of it. But it seems that, if I’m to do this, it needs to be something beyond ironic. So I need help. Is this just a terrible idea? One that shouldn’t see the light of day, but for whatever reason my brain has latched on to and won’t let go?

I’m not trying to make a statement or anything (how could I?), but think about it… for all the focus on Ferris, Cameron is obviously the more complex, tortured character. Trampled upon by everyone, including his best friend, marginalized by his father, drifting, aimless… I always thought that once you got past the ha-ha appeal (and awesome racing/jumping scene) of Ferris, the movie was more about Cameron finally standing up for himself, against everyone (including Ferris). This was a movie watched many times during my formative years, and while Ferris taught me to relax, do what makes you happy, and everything will be fine… Cameron taught me that sometimes you just have to draw a line in the sand, and dare the world to cross it.

So perhaps I’m over analyzing the movie, perhaps I’m putting too much emphasis on Cameron in what is, in reality, a comedy. But I still think him staring at other iconic images (not even just art, but serious, historically important images) would be amazing.

Then again… I’m pretty sure I don’t have the artistic ability to pull it off.

Written by jundt

July 1, 2008 at 11:40 pm

Posted in Ramblin'

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would buy the shirt! I think if you want to make images of Cameron looking at other iconic images, then the image quality has to be clearer than what you had in the previous image rendition.

    Anjali

    July 4, 2008 at 10:59 pm


Leave a Reply

