Himalountain

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Usinger’s Famous Sausage

leave a comment »

When I was a kid, every year our Milwaukee cousins would send us a Christmas basket of Usinger’s Famous Sausage. It was amazing. It always came with a little sausage knife:

https://i2.wp.com/www.usinger.com/IMG/yr2.jpg

When my mom converted, we stopped getting the delicious sausage basket and started getting these odd Hanukkah baskets which consisted of an odd assortment of what a midwesterner thinks Jews would like in a gift basket. Once it came with an electric menorah. We never got summer sausage again. I think I was more pissed about that than the whole “no more Christmas” thing.

I bought my parents a Usinger’s basket (pictured above) for their anniversary last year. I think it’s pretty much the best anniversary gift I’ve ever given. Now I get the catalog too which arrived in the mail this weekend.

https://i1.wp.com/www.usinger.com/IMG/fritzie2.gif

To learn more about Usinger’s and Fritzie the Elf (pictured above), check out: http://www.usinger.com/index.php

Written by juuulia

October 7, 2008 at 10:07 am

Leave a Reply

